Down payment assistance in Florida

There are several more Down Payment Assistance programs in Florida. A more comprehensive list of programs can be viewed at

Sapphire Home FHA Grant

Provides up to 4.5% in down payment assistance in ALL Florida Counties for FHA Loans House 2 Home FHA Income/Mortgage Limits

  • Down Payment Assistance is forgiven at the Closing table.
  • Buyer does not need to be first time Home Buyer.
  • Provides up to 4.5% in down payment assistance in ALL Florida Counties for FHA Loans. The 4.5% Grant includes covering 1% of the mandatory 1.5% Lender Origination fee
  • Origination fee 1.75% for FHA and USDA. 1% Maximum Origination fee for VA Loans.
  • No Investment properties, Primary residence only.
  • Traditional frame-block-cement siding-built homes or manufactured homes allowed for Government Agency loans. Government Agency Loans include FHA, VA and USDA Rural Development homes.
  • 1-4 Units allowed, SFR, Duplexes, Triplexes, Quadraplexes.
  • Buyer may own other properties in or outside of Florida. No First Time Home Buyer restrictions apply.
  • Non-Owner Occupant Co-Borrowers ARE allowed.
  • 30-year fixed rate term. No Adjustable Rate Mortgages allowed.
  • Maximum amount to be used with VA Mortgages (4.5%), FHA Mortgages (4.5%) and USDA Mortgages (3%)
  • Borrower must qualify for FHA, USDA or VA Loan run through Automated Underwriting Systems.
  • Credit information from approved Tri-Merged Credit Vendors. Alternative credit NOT allowed.
  • Maximum Income Limits set at 140% HUD Area Median Income for FHA, VA or USDA of Florida County the house is located. Conventional HUD Area Median Limits acceptable below 115%
  • Income limit is based off Qualifying income reported on the 1003, regardless of household size. bonuses, supplemental commissions, Alimony, Child support payments are optional and are not required providing the base income satisfies the AUS requirements.
  • Maximum loan amount of FHA Loan limits in area purchased. The lesser of $424,100 (not including MI) or maximum loan amounts permitted by HUD/FHA.
  • There are no Acquisition price limits provided the loan amount does not exceed the area FHA/HUD Guidelines for 1st mortgage loan amounts. .
  • Home Buyer Education required.
  • Lender credit not available cannot be used to pay for Closing Costs.
  • Minimum middle FICO credit score is 620 for FHA version.
  • Maximum debt-to-income 45%-50% Depending on credit score and compensating factors.
  • No Borrower Prepayment Penalty Fee if loan is paid out early and all payments were made on time prior to pay-off.
  • Seller can tribute up to 6% towards Buyers Closing Costs. Seller cannot contribute to Buyers down payment.
  • No FHA Renovation loans allowed.
Chenoa Fund FHA Mortgage and Grant program
  • Maximum Debt-to-Income back end ratio 50% or less depending on Automated Underwriting Approval or Manual Underwriting Approval of less than 50%.
  • Minimum middle FICO score is 620
  • First Mortgage must be a fixed rate.
  • Second Mortgage Grant for Down Payment Assistance or Closing Cost of 3.5% of purchase price.
  • The Grant will be forgiven after initial 36 months of on time first mortgage payments.
  • Single Family Fee Simple Homes only-No Condo’s, No Mobile Homes
  • Combined Loan to Value cannot exceed 105%.
  • Income Limits to Grant program equals 115% of HUD Area Median Income, Non-Occupant Co-Borrower income not included.
  • FHA 203B allowed. FHA 203K Full Renovation loan NOT allowed.
  • Co-Borrowers allowed for qualifying Income and that Co-Borrower income is NOT subject to income limit of less than 115% of HUD Area Median Income restrictions.
  • Primary residences only. No second homes or Investment properties.
  • Maximum Loan Amount compliant with FHA Guidelines.
  • Sponsorship Admin fee of $399 to Cedar Band Corporation Mortgage Agency
2018 Florida Bond FHA Down Payment Assistance Program for All Florida Counties
  • 30-year, fixed-rate first mortgage loans can be used throughout the State of Florida. The program is offered to all borrowers who meet income, purchase price and other program guidelines, and can otherwise qualify for a loan. Borrowers who qualify for this first mortgage program are automatically qualified for one of Florida Housing's down payment assistance programs.
  • Buyer hasn't owned a property for at least 3 years. May have owned and sold a primary residence prior to 3 years.
  • The down payment assistance loan comes in the form of a $7,500 0% interest 2nd mortgage loan. The down payment assistance can be used for the down payment, Buyers mortgage closing costs, or split pay mortgage insurance premium to lower mortgage insurance cost. This money must be paid back.
  • No Investment or second homes allowed. Must be primary residence only.
  • Middle FICO 8 credit score must be at least 640 for all Borrowers. No exceptions.
  • 1 unit only - Single Family Residence, Townhouses with 95% LTV or below. No Manufactured Homes, no condominiums.
  • Only Applicant income from 1003 used for qualification purposes.
  • Debt to income back end ratio 44.99% or less. No exceptions.
  • Allows up to 6% Seller contribution maximum towards Buyers closing costs.
  • Purchase only No Construction to Perm loans, no refinances.
  • Purchase price limits determined by 115% of HUD county median income limits.
  • Owner Occupants only, must occupy within 60 days.
  • Mandatory 8-hour Buyers Education Class for all Borrowers or any 8 hour HUD approved agency (online or in-person) or approved mortgage insurance education class.
  • Florida e-housing fee's $225 compliance fee + $300 US Bank funding fee + $85 tax service fee calculated subtracted from the $7,500 down payment assistance.
  • No Intangibles tax or property deed stamps on HUD or Closing Disclosure.
  • FHA guidelines apply to this product. This loan program is not a Conventional loan product.
  • No Co-Signors
  • No Lender Credits permitted.
  • This program can be used anywhere in the State of Florida.
  • The FL Assist offers a 30-year, 0% fixed rate, deferred but accelerated upon any of the following - the sale, transfer or other disposition of the property (including involuntary transfer by or because of foreclosure or judicial sale or operation of law), The Florida Assist 2nd mortgage must be repaid when the first mortgage has been paid off.

Florida Down Payment Assistance Pre-Qualification Form

Due to the overwhelming popularity of this program, please help us expedite your approval by filling out the Pre-qualification form below

Buyer Full Name

County of Interest

Email Address

Phone Number

Are you trying to purchase a house you currently rent or a “For Sale by Owner” property?

Are you currently working with a Builder on new Construction?

Are you currently working with a Realtor?

Have you been Pre-Approved in writing by any Lender?

If so, maximum Pre-qualified purchase price?

When do you anticipate purchasing a home?

Do you or will you have at least $3500 in a bank account to be used for your professional Home Inspection, Earnest Money Deposit, Appraisal Fee and Closing Costs?

Bankruptcies filed in past 2 years or home foreclosures / short sale in past 3 years?


Compensation method

Annual Income not including bonus

Total MONTHLY debt including: Car payment, MINIMUM payment for ALL credit cards combined, monthly student loan payment for each Borrower, any monthly installment loan such as furniture, boat, jet ski, personal installment loan etc...

Do you have any idea what your FICO Credit Scores are? If not, you may want to go to and answer a few questions and receive 1 of your credit scores. While we have no connection with Discover Card, we’ve found that this program seems to be the least intrusive, most secure and most accurate way of finding out your credit score.

Is there anything else you would like to add?